Work Text:
Hatsume Mei to Midoriya Izuku
Data boy. You know heroes. Tell me what heroes need when it comes to equipment.
@Midoriya Izuku to @Hatsume Mei
It ended up being too long so here.
ADVICE TO SUPPORT TECH HOPEFULS ON WHAT GEAR HEROES NEED
(FROM SOMEONE WHO DOESN’T KNOW TECH BUT KNOWS HEROES)
NOTE: I am not in any way an expert on this matter so please don’t take this as a 100% solid advice
Now on to your question, before I begin to give you my advice we need to establish on what type of hero you want to make support gear for because each one category has different needs. Please before you start planning gear, educate yourself on the subcategories of heroes. Here, here and here are some places online where you can find good, detailed and trustworthy information on this matter.
Of course there is some gear that all heroes need equally and those fall in the categories of communication, tracking and armor. I am going to add…
CLICK TO READ MORE
@Hatsume Mei to @Midoriya Izuku
Thank you for answering my question! The advice and the links we’ll help me make so many babies.
@Hatsume Mei to @Midoriya Izuku
As a thank you let me fix your website into something that is actually good.
@Hatsume Mei to @Midoriya Izuku
It physically hurts me to read such a good article on such a trash looking site.
@Midoriya Izuku to @Hatsume Mei
Sure go ahead. Although I don't see the point. Only you and I read it.
Hatsume Yuki @HatsumeYuki
To all those who are interested in getting involved in the support side of heroics or who are already studying and taking classes on it you should read this post.
Hatsume Yuki @HatsumeYuki
It is very informative and useful to read on the beginning of your road for understanding what heroes actually need.
ADVICE TO SUPPORT TECH HOPEFULS ON WHAT GEAR HEROES NEED
(FROM SOMEONE WHO DOESN’T KNOW TECH BUT KNOWS HEROES)
WHY ALL MIGHT IS THE NUMBER ONE HERO
(AND WHY WE NEED TO REMEMBER THAT ALL MIGHT IS HUMAN)
By researchbyDATA
Nedzu spend a long time contemplating the research in front of him, checking the information and making his own research.
DATA was right. The hero society needed to start getting ready to prepare for the retirement of their Symbol of Peace. He was going to call an all teacher assembly tomorrow to discuss this and also get in contact with some people. If the few pieces of information he managed to get from Recovery Girl meant what he thought they meant then they had less time than DATA gave them.
RISE IN THE WORK EFFICIENCY OF HEROES
By Ueno Yuuma
Ever since DATA’s resent research Why All Might Is The Number One Hero (And Why We Need To Remember He Is Human) was published online a month ago heroes have become more active and pro-active.
CLICK TO READ MORE
Toshinori didn’t know what to think of DATA’s research originally but now he was glad that the man posted it. It made being All Might slightly easier and lessened his guilt over his, soon to come but not yet, retirement. Now he knows that there are other heroes willing to share the load.
He only needs a successor.
He has time.
TO: [Kato Mizuki, Head of Midoriya News Legal Department]
FROM:[Midoriya Mika]
You know researchbyDATA? Well Izuku is DATA. He doesn’t know he is famous and we are not telling him.
Prepare for lawsuits.
Your Empress of Chaos
TO:[Midoriya Mika]
FROM: [Kato Mizuki, Head of Midoriya News Legal Department]
You know when I said that the kid took after you I meant his quirklessness. This is not what I wanted the kid to inherit from you.
How does he not know? Why are you not telling him? Wouldn’t it be better if he knew?
Your First Knight in Law
TO: [Kato Mizuki, Head of Midoriya News Legal Department]
FROM:[Midoriya Mika]
He is 12 and oblivious. Also his schedule is full with preparing for UA’s hero course and I don’t want him to stress about this.
Additionally it’s hilarious and I want to see how many problems he can cause without knowing or getting sued.
Cackling Grandma
TO:[Midoriya Mika]
FROM: [Kato Mizuki, Head of Midoriya News Legal Department]
I though UA’s hero course didn’t accept people without quirks. Also isn’t the exam biased towards strong quirks?
Confused Accomplice
TO: [Kato Mizuki, Head of Midoriya News Legal Department]
FROM:[Midoriya Mika]
We have plan. He will get in Gen Ed, and then win the Sports Festival. They will have to accept him.
Grandma of Future Hero
TO:[Midoriya Mika]
FROM: [Kato Mizuki, Head of Midoriya News Legal Department]
That is not how it works. I checked the rules. They don’t take quirkless students in the hero course. Don’t build up his hopes just for them to crash.
The Responsible Adult
TO: [Kato Mizuki, Head of Midoriya News Legal Department]
FROM:[Midoriya Mika]
You bet?
Suspected To Be The Devil Personified
“Hello ladies and gentlemen! In this day’s episode we have gathered experts in law, history and economy to discuss DATA’s latest research ‘The pros and cons of our strict quirk regulation laws through history’. Here DATA claims that while the laws were necessary in the era when quirks first appeared currently they are causing more problems to our society long term.
Let’s begin with your opinion Ms….”
QUIRK JOB LISCENCE: WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW
By Mori Katsurou
Comments (197)
@JunpeiK
If DATA ever reveals himself I am sending him my limited edition All Might poster. Holly shit. If this thing with the licenses goes through then my job would be a hell of a lot safer and easier to do.
@TarouM
We need to petition for DATA to enter the hero rankings
Screenshot posted by @allmightgoldenera
researchbyDATA
The quirk of the heroine, Knight, allows her to change her entire body and everything that is on her from shoes to clothes to accessories to EVERYTHING after she touches an object (solids only) into said object’s material. In order to change back she needs to come in contact with another human. Considering the attack that happened yesterday I theorize that she changed herself into iron in order to fight the villain and somehow the villain caused her to freefall from the sky that led to her falling on the civilian. If you remember what I said about her quirk you can understand that the reason why she didn’t change into something lightweight is because she couldn’t.
What happened yesterday was a tragedy that Knight couldn’t avoid and probably will haunt her for the rest of her life.
Here is a link to her Hero Information account that is open to the public. Things such as quirks don’t change since the moment it is put up. Please before you start breathing fire at a hero for how they do or don’t do their job do some basic research. Heroics are much more complicated than just punching a criminal. You should know this by now.
@allmightgoldenera
oh this makes so much more sense now! Knight has always come across as a very responsible and dedicated hero so I had no idea how to respond to this entire thing
@glt reblogged from @allmightgoldenera
now I feel sorry for her.
@pizzaandfries reblogged from @allmightgoldenera
WAIT A MINUTE! ARE YOU SAYING THAT ALL DAYLIGHT HEROES HAVE OFFICIAL HERO INOFRMATION ACCOUNTS!? I THOUGHT IT WAS ONLY THE TOP 10.
@noooooope reblogged from @pizzaandfries
how could you have missed it? Every hero has a link to their account on all their official social media.
@pizzanadfries reblogged from @noooooope
I learn about heroes through unwilling osmosis not because I am a fan
@yes-no-maybe-snickers-because-i-am-not-myself-when-i-am-hungry reblogged from @allmightgoldenera
@herofansunite hey guys check this out
@herofansunite reblogged from @allmightgoldenera
As a group we would like to say sorry to our followers. It is our job as mods to make sure that the information on this blog is correct and we have failed. We checked the information researchbyDATA provided above and it is in fact correct. The posts with the misinformation are going to be deleted as per procedure. We ask once more for forgiveness and understanding. Please spread the word about Knight.
@EndeavorHateBlog reblogged from @herofansunite
What was the guy even doing there? I thought the place was evacuated by the police.
WHY I DON’T LIKE ENDEAVOR
This has caused me to lose 10 hours were I could be doing something useful like sleeping so you better appreciate it and not bother me for the next two days.
CLICK TO READ MORE
TOP POSTS OF THE WEEK
*ENDEAVOR: VILLAIN WITH A GOOD REPUTATION
*DATA’S IDENTITY REVEALED
*THE SUSPICIOUS CASE OF THE TODOROKI FAMILY
@lo-la-li-lo
A question for the Japanese side of this hell site: Who is the Chaos Grandma and her Problem Grandson and why are they trending?
@glt reblogged from @lo-la-li-lo
Okay guys buckle up. This is gonna be a very long post. I am big fun of Midoriya Mika and her grandson, Izuku.
Japan is well known internationally as a very quirkist society. While the Japanese Government is never going to admit it, the citizens of the country will be quick to tell you that they all operate with the law of the jungle in mind (no wonder we have so many villains. I mean in the last decades even America has been doing better.) Emphasis is given to strong and flashy quirks (the ‘heroic’ quirks) while the rest (‘week’ or villainous’ quirks) are treated either with indifference or like shit. The situation is even worse for the quirkless who are treated as useless and as burdens to society. This means that the quirkless are considered harmless. This is how the situation has been for about a century or more.
Saiko Mika (or as you know her currently Chaos Grandma) is 18 and comes from a very poor family. Her mother made sure that she understood that as a quirkless citizen of Japan she needed to be twice as good as a quirked individual if she wanted to get half as much. Harsh but true. Mika is brilliant. She can read and write in Japanese, English and French thanks to an uncle of hers. Her hobby is studying the law. She is organized and knows how to multitask. Quick on the uptake, she has managed to gather a lot of skills through her many small time jobs. Watches the news religiously with the hope that something will change in society. Mika knows the world she was born in and she knows that if she wants to survive the society she lives in she has to marry someone that can look after her. Problem. She is plain looking and she has no way of getting close to anyone rich or powerful.
Enter stage left Akiyama Rokurou or as he is going to be known from now on this post as #1. Why? Because he is Mika’s first husband (She married three times by the way.) He is 21, handsome and the head of a very successful newspaper which he inherited from his father. Most importantly, he is looking for a wife.
It should be easy. Beautiful and talented and brilliant women with incredible quirks throw themselves at his feet. One of them should be good enough right? The problem is that #1 doesn’t much care about that because he finds them incredibly boring and stupid. Now, let me tell you that the women weren’t in fact boring or something. After all, some of them which we know about have become very successful. This guy’s problem was that he was obsessed with his job and as you know a problem that has existed since before quirks is that people don’t use critical thinking when it comes to the news. So he thinks that all these women are stupid.
That same year #1 starts looking for a secretary. Mika decides to give it a chance. Hey she may not manage to seduce him but she may get the job. She probably wouldn’t have gotten it had it not been for the fact that she met him at a coffee shop before the interview. She recognized him and she decided to talk to him while pretending that she didn’t.
She dazzles him with her knowledge of current affairs and how past affairs affected them, law and she throws in some of her language skills. They part and *SUPRISE* meet again in the interview.
Remember Mika is poor so she doesn’t actually have the papers that provide the proof that she knows all these languages and law knowledge she is using.
This is how everyone thinks the interview went.
#1: You are brilliant but your resume doesn’t say so.
Mika: I am quirkless and poor.
#1: You are brilliant and you’re hired.
Seven months later the wedding date is announced.
It’s a scandal. Everyone is convinced that Mika has used some Seduction quirk on him. This is the period of time when people didn’t know of her quirklessness. So Mika goes all “Surprise Bitch! I am quirkless!”
The shock. The horror. The insult.
It was a beautiful wedding.
Mika begins to show how good she is with leading a news company by helping her husband expand his newspaper in the next 6 years. Risky and controversial articles go up while somehow not becoming a gossip rag. If you checked investigative journalism at the dictionary you would find them as both the definition and the example. They are not afraid to call politicians and heroes on their bull shit. And they can’t even get in trouble with the law for doing so because Mika and the team of lawyers they have on hand make sure that everything is legal. People start saying that if you see Mika paying attention on someone then you will find something rotten about them in the next month. Heroes and politicians are absolutely terrified of her. The Chaos Lady they start to call her. Everywhere she goes she brings disaster. They go online with their newspaper. Their relationship is actually great and not great for show. Everything is perfect.
#1 dies in a villain attack.
It was an accident. Nothing could be done. Everything he owned is given to Mika. Mika starts facing problems because without her quirked husband backing her up, her rivals start attacking her.
Midoriya Ryuunosuke is 22, handsome and the younger brother of Midoriya Kyou who is the head and owner of about 45% percent of the news media in Japan at the time. Kyou wants his brother to actually get more involved in the family business because let me tell you the job of CEO is very stressful and Kyou doesn’t want to die from stress at age 30.
Ryuunosuke or #2 as he is going to be known from now on is not at all interested in being a responsible adult. As the youngest child of a rich and influential family he is spoiled and still apparently going through his college party years despite dropping out of college. So when he sees newly widowed Mika (age 28) who is good at this thing and faces problems he offers her a deal.
“Marry me and do my job as my brother’s business partner while I go on being irresponsible and no one is going to cause you problems. We will not even have to see each other again outside of holidays and special events.”
So after everything is put on paper and they agree on it, they get married in three months time.
It is an even bigger scandal than the first one but that isn’t the important thing. The important thing is that Kyou is the last person to find out about this. Influenced by the media who called Mika a gold-digger and a cradle robber and his own experiences with those types of women he doesn’t take her seriously. Mika on the other hand finds him to be an arrogant asshole that needs to be taken down a few hundred pegs. It’s hate at first meeting.
This is the beginning of a beautiful enemies to rivals to grudgingly respectful business partners to I-am-venting-to-you-because-you-are-the-only-smart-person-here kind of friendship with a side of damnit-I-admire-you-because-you-are-actually-great to lovers.
This by the way happens in a year.
Mika asks for a divorce from #2 and she is given it.
You would think that with them being people who know how the media can be and Mika's own personal history/expirience they would be careful with how this situation would be handled. No they are not. Mika and Kyou, or #3 from now on, have their wedding announced at the same time Mika and #2 announce their divorce.
You don’t need me to tell you how that went.
Mika and #3 had a daughter.
This is where Mika’s autobiography The Chaos Lady of Japan ends. It is a beautiful read and is on my recommended list if you want to get a look on quirk discrimination in Japan.
This is where everything we know about Mika’s grandson Midoriya Izuku(age 14) starts. Note this is all public information btw. I didn’t go stalking a teenager.
Anyway, back on topic.
Mika’s daughter (who we don’t know by the way) gets married to someone we don’t know and has a son.
Izuku at age four is declared quirkless. His father disappears from the picture and just sends child support. Mika is not a very big part of her grandson’s life due to distance and work until he is seven. She is 57 (still the terror of any powerful person with dirt by the way) and starts stepping down from her position to let someone younger work for her while her husband still goes on strong. So now that she has the time, she visits her daughter and grandson a lot and she Notices Things.
Now remember life for quirkless people in Japan is difficult and raising a quirkless child by yourself can be just as difficult. It becomes obvious to the Chaos Lady that while her daughter tries her best she can’t handle it. Her anxiety is terrible and she has been accidently neglecting her son. Mika takes guardianship of her grandson and that is the last we hear of Izuku’s mother.
Now you may ask how I know this. Well I wouldn’t know this if Mika didn’t sue her grandson’s school and later the school district for allowing and even encouraging the relentless bullying her grandson received. Remember this is Japan and the law of the jungle is a very real thing. It goes on for a year and Mika makes sure it gets news coverage the entire time. (I followed the case. It was horrible and monstrous what that kid went through.) It goes big. Everyone has an opinion. Heroes get involved. Mika almost throws hands with All Might.
Mika is a woman with no patience left for society’s ‘stupidity’. Even if it comes from the Number 1 hero.
It forces the education system to start cracking on bullying because, guess what, bullying not only can cause depression, lead to self harm and suicide but it also encourages violent and abusive behaviors in minors.
Who would have though?
A few years later the kid is 12 and absolutely fucking brilliant. Like, you wouldn’t believe it. And he has OpinionsTM and his friends start asking him to explain them to them. Except some of his opinions are not short things that can be easily written in a messenger app. Oh no. They are these well researched essays with sources and additional information links on them.
So instead of sending them in a group chat or email like a normal person he decides to make a blog, post his research there and send a link to it on the group chat. The blog is set on public viewing for some reason. Here is the link to it by the way researchbyDATA. DATA is the kid’s nickname because he knows a lot of stuff.
The first article is advice to people who make support tech for heroes and is in fact currently part of the curriculum for first year support college students in Japan. It went big after Hatsume Yuki (Head of Hatsume Enterprises) posted a link to it on her twitter.
DATA now has no idea about his fame and his friends and family find that so funny that they don’t tell him he is semi-famous.
After that a lot of analysis of hero fights that no one was sure what happened was posted, some research that the kid did in some cold cases that helped the police a lot and even posts that criticized laws such as those for quirks. There is even an article about All Might’s history, how he affected the Japanese society and how the hero community needs to start adapting to All Might inevitable retirement (All Might is human who would have guessed?) kicked the hero community’s ass and forced them to work together more in order to take some weight of off All Might’s shoulders. Not all of them are super long but I think that the short ones were posted there because he got used to posting his analysis there. One of those would be the post about the Knight tragedy which reached the news.
The kid’s blog is famous. Heroes and civilians want to know who the fuck this guy is. Like everyone knows when a new article is posted. Everyone reads it because sometimes the article leads to heads rolling and once an almost revolution happening. Part of that I must admit was the mystery behind the writer. Everyone though it was some adult with a degree in journalism or a detective or something.
No one actually goes out of their way to find him because despite all the criticism everything he says is valid and no one is stupid enough to go after him since that would start raising suspicions about said person.
Now remember as far as DATA knew the only ones who bothered with his blog were his friends who could easily send him a message directly to his phone. So there is no place to leave a comment on the site, no email to send a message to, no public account linked to it for anyone to communicate with DATA. Who by the way doesn’t find out about his fame until like two weeks ago.
And here we come to the reason why Chaos Grandma and Problem Grandchild are trending.
Sometime earlier in the month one of his friends asks “Hey. You usually go all fanboy mode about the top 50 heroes except Endeavor the number 2 and we noticed that you sometimes trash talk him. Why is that?”
And he goes on to post a 30 page research full of numbers and statistics pulled from reliable sources which talked about the amount of damage Endeavor has caused while on missions, news feeds-most of them live- and a lot of other ReliableTM information on why he doesn’t like the number 2 hero.
In 10 hours everyone is trash talking Endeavor. Like no kidding. DATA opened the door to a lot of angry and furious people that have wanted to talk about how trash Endeavor is for years but never had the courage to do so against the number 2 hero.
Endeavor like the ass-hole he is, abuses his status as a hero to track DATA down and sue him. Not even finding out about him being a fourteen year old kid stopped him.
Todoroki Enjii has obviously never taken Mika seriously and it shows.
Mika gleefully enters a fight with Endeavor. And it started with this statement.
“If Endeavor wants to enter into a legal fight with me over what my grandson writes on his blog then I will gladly do it. After all it is not everyday a hero –the number 2 at that- calls information someone got from official government sites slander.” source
Endeavor’s entire situation is not helped at all since when he tried to attack Mika over how she raised her grandson she turned to him and said:
“I do not take advice or criticism over how to treat my family by someone like you. Especially, considering your wife’s mysterious breakdown, that caused her to attack her youngest child, or your eldest son’s mysterious death.” Source
Also the name Problem Grandchild came as a result of this report, were listed are what problems and to whom DATA’s articles caused.
WHY THE QUIRK DOESN’T MAKE THE HERO
(OR WHY YOU SHOULD ALL GET OFF MY CASE FOR WANTING TO BE A HERO)
10 year old Hitoshi Shinso spend an hour crying after he read the article. His parents worried about him and kept asking him what happened. If the children and the adults at his school were mean to him. Hitoshi just showed them the article and most specifically those words that later his mother would help him write with paint on the blank wall of his room. Words that would carry him from his middle school to UA.
“The so called ‘villainous’ quirks can be extremely helpful in heroics. For example, the no. 1 most believed ‘villainous’ quirk, as per research that can be found here and here , Brainwashing is one of the most useful and versatile quirks anyone in heroics could ask for.”
[Selfie of Midoriya Mika and Midoriya Izuku. Mika is wearing a pair of neon green glasses. One side it says “I WAS” and the other one says “RIGHT BITCH”. Next to her Izuku is smiling widely in his UA uniform.]
Chaos Grandma @MidoriyaMika
I TOLD YOU HE WOULD GET INTO UA’S HERO COURSE. GET READY TO PAY UP, LOSER!
